History and Duties

Lieutenants were first appointed by Henry VIII in the 1540s who were responsible for the efficiency of the local militia units of the county. They soon became approved by the English Parliament in 1550, however it was not until the threat of invasion by the forces of Spain in 1585 that Lieutenants were appointed to all Counties. Although some Counties were left without Lieutenants during the 1590s, following the defeat of the Spanish Armada, the office continued to exist, and was retained by James I even after the end of the war against Spain in 1604.

Lord-Lieutenants are the monarch’s representatives in their Lieutenancy. It is their duty to uphold the dignity of the Crown, and to promote a spirit of cooperation through activity in voluntary organisations and taking interest in the economics of their Counties – i.e business and social. They are appointed for life, although the customary age of retirement is 75.

The modern responsibilities of Lord-Lieutenants include:

Arranging visits of members of the Royal family and escorting royal visitors.

  • Presenting medals and awards on behalf of the Sovereign, and advising on Honours nominations.
  • Participating in civic, voluntary and social activities within the lieutenancy.
  • Liaising with local units of the Armed Forces and their associated cadets;
  • Leading the local magistracy as chairman of the Advisory Committee on Justices of the Peace.
  • Chairing the local Advisory Committee for the Appointment of the General Commissioners of Income Tax, a tribunal which hears appeals against decisions made by the HM Revenue and Customs on a variety of different tax related matters.

Previous Lord Lieutenants of Warwickshire

Ambrose Dudley, 3rd Earl of Warwick 15691570
Ambrose Dudley, 3rd Earl of Warwick bef. 1587 21 February 1590
William Compton, 1st Earl of Northampton 29 October 1603 24 June 1630
Spencer Compton, 2nd Earl of Northampton 17 July 1630 1642
Robert Greville, 2nd Baron Brooke 1642 (Parliamentarian)
Basil Feilding, 2nd Earl of Denbigh 1643 (Parliamentarian)
James Compton, 3rd Earl of Northampton 18 July 1660 15 December 1681
Edward Conway, 1st Earl of Conway 23 January 1682 11 August 1683
Robert Spencer, 2nd Earl of Sunderland 5 September 1683 29 March 1686
George Compton, 4th Earl of Northampton 29 March 1686 5 December 1687
Robert Spencer, 2nd Earl of Sunderland 5 December 1687 20 June 1689
George Compton, 4th Earl of Northampton 20 June 1689 21 July 1715
John Montagu, 2nd Duke of Montagu 21 July 1715 5 July 1749
Francis Greville, 1st Earl Brooke 3 October 1749 29 June 1757
Francis Seymour-Conway, 1st Marquess of Hertford 29 June 1757 14 June 1794
George Greville, 2nd Earl of Warwick 6 February 1795 2 May 1816
Francis Seymour-Conway, 2nd Marquess of Hertford 19 July 1816 28 June 1822
Henry Greville, 3rd Earl of Warwick 18 July 1822 10 August 1853
William Craven, 2nd Earl of Craven 12 September 1853 12 March 1856
William Leigh, 2nd Baron Leigh 12 March 1856 21 October 1905
Hugh Seymour, 6th Marquess of Hertford 27 November 1905 23 March 1912
William Compton, 5th Marquess of Northampton 7 May 1912 15 June 1913
William Craven, 4th Earl of Craven 18 July 1913 10 July 1921
Francis Leigh, 3rd Baron Leigh 8 August 1921 16 May 1938
Lord Henry Charles Seymour 20 June 1938 18 June 1939
John Verney, 20th Baron Willoughby de Broke 28 August 1939 15 January 1968
Charles Smith-Ryland 15 January 1968 1989
Francis FitzRoy Newdegate, 3rd Viscount Daventry 19 March 1990 17 January 1997
Sir Martin Dunne 17 January 1997 30 March 2013
Timothy Cox 2 April 2013 present